Work

Hi all, I just thought I’d give a quick update because my mind is a little all over the place. Yesterday’s work day was crazy! We had many patients fall ill and, a lot of the time, I did not know what I was doing. Essentially, there were many firsts. In addition to that, I felt very overwhelmed and under-supported at work. I am grateful however. I am grateful for the adversity in my life that has enabled me to stand up against these challenges. I am also grateful for my communication skills.

I just remembered that I forgot to follow-up something at work and became anxious. But, oh well, hopefully that would’ve been sorted today!

Anyway, I think the anxiety from yesterday scared me slightly.

I was very unprepared for the first patient who became unwell. Firstly, that was not my patient, so it was impossible for me to do anything about that. Secondly, the other team came soon after I arrived, so there was not much for me to do. It was all a matter of timing and I was not prepared. The thing to learn from this is: go easy on yourself. You do nothing wrong!

The second patient who became unwell made me feel a little small too. I was slow doing my initial assessment and a senior nurse took over, which was good. This has taught me to sharpen up my initial assessment.

The third patient required emergency surgery and I could not get intravenous access. I did, but then I lost it – every time! The thing to learn from this is: stay calm and try again. That’s all you can do!

The fourth patient was thankfully stable, but I was doing a lot of communicating with my senior. The thing to learn from this is: thank God you have good communication skills or this could have messed up a little.

The last patient needed an AXR and I ordered it, but forgot to chase it up. The lesson to learn from this is: keep your list tidy.

In all, things to learn are: go easy on yourself; sharpen up your initial assessment; stay calm and try again with procedures; actively work on your communication skills; and keep the list tidy!

It truly is an honor to do the work we do. Let’s actualize that honor.

Leave a Reply

